So I missed last weeks post, but my computer broke down and it has been in shop. So to make up for it, today I am bringing you a new recipe. Something that is a bit sweet and that I love. It is my Karla’s lemon cake. Karla is my older niece that turned 13 today. And when I asked her what does she wants me to make, she said that lemon cake of yours. And I felt so privileged that I have nice that loves most of the food I make and that supports me in my crazy experiments. And I think it is important to note that she does not have any restrictions, jet she finds this gluten-free and lactose free cake great. And I have to warn you,  it is caloric bomb (around 450 calories if you use coconut), but so worth it and still feels really light and it won’t drop heavy on your stomach.

I love lemons. They are so versatile and can be used in sweet, salty or even sour recipes, in drinks, you can put them in pretty much any thing you can think of, and they will improve or sharpen up the taste.

For this lemon and vanilla cake you will need :

  • 10 tablespoons of hard coconut oil ( or 250 g of unsalted butter if you prefer)
  • 250 g of all-purpose gluten – free flour ( I use mix be from  Schär as I prefer the consistency and know it won’t have unusual smell after baking, wich can happen with some other gluten-free flours)
  • tablespoon of baking powder
  • 200 g of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of vanilla sugar
  • 4 large free-range eggs
  • 3 lemons ( zest from two of them)
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1 dl of lactose free milk

For icing :

  • vanilla cream ( I make my own with 1/2 vanilla bean, 1 cup chilled lactose free cream and 2 tablespoons sugar ; but you can also use Dr Oetker Allergy line of product that has Vanilla cream that is labeled as gluten-free, and mix it with plant-based milk or lactoise free milk)
  • additional teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 lemon
  • tablespoon of lemon zest
  • 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla sugar

For glazing on cake you can use different toppings, as you prefer, such as whipped cream, chocolate of your choice (for this recipe I recommend the white chocolate, if you choose to go down this route) or you can make a drizzle topping like I did ( with icing sugar,2 tablespoons quality lemon curd and tablespoon of lemon juice). I also used sprinkles (be careful that sprinkles are not wheat based, I used QualitySprinkles as they are labeled and proven as gluten-free) as cake was for kid’s birthday party.

First you should  preheat the oven to 180°C/350ºF. Grease two 20cm cake tins with a little coconut oil, line the bases with greaseproof paper, then dust lightly with pinch of flour  (this mixture gives you thick sponge, so even if you have a little biger tinm you won’t lack bater). Next you should beat the oil and sugar’s together until very light and fluffy. Add the eggs one by one, making sure you beat each one in well before you add the next. After that you should add the flour mixed with baking powder (not all in once, but in few times) and fold it in the mixture. When all is well mixed through, add the zest of two lemons, vanilla extract, juice of one lemon and lactose free milk and mix it all together.

16326689_10211783462403420_1875088989_o

Divide between the prepared cake tins, spreading it out well with a spatula, then place in the hot oven for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden and an inserted skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly, then carefully turn out onto a baking rack to cool completely. After baking you should have two beautiful yellow sponges.

16325484_10211783461163389_1806328221_o

To make the icing, make the vanilla cream or mix Dr Oetker one with some milk of your choise. When the cream is done, add vanilla extract, juice of one lemon, lemon zest and vanilla sugar.  Beat until just smooth – but it’s really important not to over-mix it as cream could become runny.

When sponges cooled down, drizzle on each half of lemon and  then layer over the icing. Place it, icing-side up, onto a cake stand. Repeat with the remaining ingredients, then top with the final sponge. Put it in the fridge to cool and settle. After cooling put ower the cake finish topping of your choice, mine was perfect lemon drizzle and some sprinkles.

16326746_10211783460203365_687749111_o

Hope you will try and enjoy in this perfect lemon cake… If you make it, let me know how did you like it. Feedback is always a good thing.

Also, on my usual upload day (sunday) i am bringing you super easy and delicious polenta with white mushroom sauce, that i posted on  my instagram few days ago.

Sanja

