It’s been so clod past few days in my hometown. so cold, that we had snow , even as our city is in Mediterranean and on the sea.

window
View from my neighborhood yesterday morning

With some of my closest friends, we have tradition that we gather once a mont enjoy some  good food, maybe some wine and just laugh and talk. This time it was my turn to prepare food. As it is cold outside I desperate needed something to warm us. And my salvation came in a form of my amazing aunt that called to tell me to come and pick up some delicious sea food caught by her husband few days ago while it was still warm enough. And boy was I lucky!! in between everything else she gave me 0,5 kg of delicious Adriatic sea Scampi. My my concern about what food to cook, and not to be too boring disappeared quickly  and I decided to do the amazing homemade broth (here called, buzara). It’s easy and it’s deliciouse. And it is pure heaven to eat while sipping some amazing white wine.

Easy preparation of scampi with some herbs and bit wine in history was prepared only by fishermen who quickly cooked it up in a single vessel. Today you can find it on a prestigious dish lists in excellent restaurants. And here on Kvarner we serve it with some (in my case gluten-free) corn bread or polenta.

For broth you will need:

  • around 0,5 kg of scampi
  • 150 ml of water
  • 100 ml of olive oil
  • two onions
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • some parsley ( I like to put around 3 tablespoons of chopped parsley, but you can put less if you are not the biggest fan of it)
  • 2 full table spoons of tomato puree (you can also use concentrate)
  • 200 ml of white wine
  • 2-3 tablespoons of bread crumbs (I make my own bread crumbs from homemade bread if I have some of it left, I leave it to dry then roast in the oven at 150 C and then grind in a blender – they can be done from any tipe of bread that you like)
  • a few leaves of rosemary
  • a bay laurel leaf
  • some salt and pepper

First you should wash the scampi under lukewarm water. In the meantime put a wide pot on the stowe and heat the olive oil. On heated oil add the fine chopped onion and saute it until it gets golden-yellow color. Add a bit of water when you think onions are ready and let it simmer for a bit. Then add the chopped garlic and parsley, tomato puree, water and a few leaves of rosemary and leave to boil briefly.

Place the scampi in the pot and pour the wine in. Saute for 15-20 minutes, depending on the size of scampi. During stewing stir gently. At the end of stewing, add bread crumbs so the sauce can get a bit thicker.

Serve while it is still hot.

If you want to serve it with some great polenta, here it is how we cook it here. You put in pot for 4 glasses of water and 1 cup polenta (corn porridge), you add one teaspoon of salt, and when polenta is near the end of cooking (slowly start to thickens) add half spoon of butter ( well, I cook with coconut oil, but in tradition here they use butter). Take it of the heat, put it on a plate and leave it to get a bit cold, so you can slice it. Sliced polenta you put on un oiled pan and roast till it gets a bit of a crust. It will be perfect to go with your broth.

untitled

Well I hope you like this recipe and if you do decide to give it a try, let me know! Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

Sanja

