After all the Christmas shenanigans, after all cakes and desserts, healthy desserts, but still desserts I am finally going back to my usual diet and exercise. Today I was craving some pasta, so on my way from work I decided to make one of my favourite and share it with you!

I have to say that I was a bit tired and not in mood for making fresh tagliatelle ( will put up recipe for them soon too!) so I opted for corn and rice gluten-free penne with some of my favourite things on top of it. And they are still delicious, trust me!

For this recipe you will need (for 2 people):

  • 150 – 200 g of gluten – free pasta
  • cup of cooking cream (I use lactose free cooking cream from alpro)
  • few pieces of sliced prosciutto (or you can use pancetta if you prefere it)
  • 150 g of fresh spinach
  • one soft spread cheese of 35g (ones cute ones that come in triangles – I use also lactose free ones from one Croatian brand that are also full labeled as gluten-free)
  • one table-spoon of olive oil
  • pinch of pepper and pinch of different mixed mediterranean herbs ( I use some basil, thyme, rosemary – but you can alter it to your liking)

Note: don’t add additional salt in sauce, as prosciutto is already salty, try it right before taking it from the stove, and add pinch if you feel like you need it.

15978473_10211626802567022_706208963_n

Cook your pasta al dente (usually by my experience around 3 minutes for home-made pasta, and around 8 for store-bought one) and drain the wather. Put the olive oil in and just a bit, gentle stir the pasta. Put it back on the stove on small flame and add cooking cream, leave it to cook for a bit. At the same time put prosciutto on a hot pan (without additional oil) and make it a bit crispy, be careful, don’t burn it though.

In the pot with pasta and cream add soft cheese to melt, and after that add fresh spinach and stir it. Give it about minute to cook, then add pepper, herbs, and in the end prosciutto. Serve while still hot. And you can always top it with some parmesan if you can eat it!

15991994_10211626765406093_593668147_o3

I hope you will enjoy one of my favorites! As I am brought up on Mediterranean, pasta was with me from my early starts, and one of first things I learned how to cook. Please, if you make it, let me know! And would love to hear if you have any suggestions, on what would you like to see here. Feedback is always a good thing!

Sanja

