As a first I bring you super easy but still “Oh so delicious” recipe for Tapioca sticks. There are million variations of this one with all the “regular” flours. But for me it took few trial runs to successfully make them. I had problems of not rising, or sticks being hard as rocks after baking… But few weeks ago I made it a weekend project and succeed.  So I hope you like them. Also I added some cheese because, well, cheese – that is self-explanatory. 🙂

You will need:

  • 180 g tapioca flour
  • 150 g  of gluten-free flour ( I used Mix b from Schär )
  • 1 packet of baking powder (or about half tea-spoon)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 180 g lactose free cottage cheese ( or one of your choice )
  • 1 egg
  • 1 dcl of lactose free milk
  • toppings for the sticks like some hard cheese, or sesame (optional)

Preheat your oven on 180 Celsius degrees (minute before putting dough in, turn on the fan). First you mix your dry ingredients in one bowl and wet ones in other. After wet ingredients are stirred well you slowly add them dry ones while stirring. When dough is fully stirred and no liquid is left on bottom of the bowl, you can shape your sticks with hands ( I made them as long as palm of my hand, but you can shape them any way and any size you want – in balls, or even leave it as a smaller bread loaf).

After shaping them put them in the baking tin, you can glaze them with some egg yolk for golden colour and sprinkle with some hard cheese or sesame if you want to. Put them in the oven and bake between 15 – 20 min (depends on how strong your owen is) ’till the colour on them is golden.  After taking them out sticks should still be on the softer, tender side.

tb

I hope you like the recipe and if you make them let me know! Feedback is always a good thing!

Talk to you again soon friends!

Sanja

